Central Highlands

Home // Central Highlands

Central Highlands

The Central Highlands of Sri Lanka

The central highlands of Sri Lanka are the latest World Heritage sites in Sri Lanka. The highlands are in the South-central part of the island. The area comprises the Peak Wilderness Protected Area, the Horton Plains National Park, and the Knuckles Conservation Forest. These are all rain forests, where the elevation reaches 2,500 meters above sea level. Its forests provide habitat for an extraordinary number of endemic species of flora and fauna.
Furthermore, Nuwara Eliya is also an important place to visit when you come to Sri Lanka. It is a small town situated in Sri Lanka’s central province. Nuwara Eliya, meaning “The City of Lights”, is also called “Little England” because of its distinctive English village style. The town is situated at 1,800 meters above sea level, very beautifully surrounded by valleys and mountains with temples as far as the eye reaches and the climate is a little cooler. The area is considered the most significant for tea production in Sri Lanka.



Activities in Central Highlands

  • Warleigh Church
  • Walk in the Tea Valley
  • Cycle on the Winding Roads
  • Sit on Sir Thomas Lipton′s Seat
  • St Benedict′s Monastery
  • Dambatenne Tea Factory
  • Prabhawa Mountain Day View Point
  • Thangamale Bird Sanctuary
  • Bambarakanda Waterfalls
  • Ravana Falls & Rawana Cave
  • Dunhinda Falls
  • Warakara Waterfall Nature Trek
  • Climb to The Little Adam′s Peak
  • Cycling tour to Ella Sightseeing
  • Cycling to Ellawala Waterfall

You Might Also Like…


Leave a Review

Your email address will not be published.